Reflections on motivation

In my last post I talked about reflection and asking why. This was in the context of using gamification in teaching and specifically about challenging the status quo of curriculum delivery.

I want to take some time to apply this to this course. It think it might help me to take away what is most important from what I am learning right now.

So here is the big question: Why am I taking this course?

Really this is what has been plaguing me as of late.

I have discussed this in the past on this blog but I think it’s worth a visit again and possibly more in-depth this time.

I am a husband, a father and a Sign Language Interpreter. Those are the main roles I play in life. I’m also a brother, son, nephew, friend etc., but I define myself by those three main roles. Maybe you noticed that I haven’t said instructor or teacher at all. That’s because I don’t see myself as one. The closest I have come to being a teacher is when I mentor interpreting students. I usually just lump this in with being an interpreter. It’s part of giving back to my community. Once I was mentored and now I do the mentoring. (Actually I still seek out mentoring from those who are more skilled and wise than myself).

I started this program for a few reasons:

1. It’s very economical because I’m an employee at VCC
2. I work with many instructors who have taken this program and I thought it might help me interpret for them because I’ll know why they are doing what they are doing in the class. This will help me frame my interpreting to fit with their teaching techniques.
3. I wanted a challenge as I’ve been doing the same thing for ten years now.
4. I occasionally mentor students and I thought I might be able to use some of what I learn in that practice.
5. I am looking for a possible career change in the future and wanted to explore teaching as an option.
6. It could give me the experience and some of the skills I need to get accepted into a masters program – if I decide to go that route.

None of these reasons are because I am in the classroom teaching, nor will I be doing that anytime soon. This has impeded my learning because I don’t have a way of directly applying my learning or drawing from experience as many of my peers are able to do.

The course content has become secondary learning to the experience of taking this on-line course (which is still very new to me). Also the process of learning is at the forefront as I don’t have that direct application option.

I often wonder if I will take any more courses after I take this one, and I’ve done that with each of the other two courses I have taken so far (3100 and 3220). It takes a lot of time and energy to do these courses properly and I don’t like to do things half way. I’m learning to be content to not be perfect and allow myself to do things as best as I can with the restrictions I have right now.

I am interested in learning about curriculum development but might try a

Leave a Reply

