back in class again

Monday – Program Planning – AKA Curriculum Development
I’m back in the saddle…yet again. It has been a busy summer off of study and work as we just had twin girls born and my life was thrown into all kinds of turmoil. I am trying to re-group and get back into the groove of learning. I am excited about this course because I believe it will help me put all of these courses together. Yesterday I planned on adding to my blog but I got busy doing other things and forgot to post this, even though I had typed up a draft already. 
Tuesday – Writing Performance Objectives

I wasn’t sure about this activity when we started but after a few practice runs I’ve realized how helpful it is to write objectives to all of my objectives. This allows me to contemplate why I am asking students to learn something and how I am going to get them to do it. This way I can be sure that what I have planned is appropriate, relative and useful. 
It was important to learn that while wording these objectives all I need is for them to contain conditions, criteria as well as the objective itself. The order that these are put in the explanation is not as important as having them included and that the explanation make sense. 
Challenges: One of my major challenges right now is getting past my own hesitation and doubt while trying to do these assignments. This has been a common theme between all of my courses in the instructor diploma program; not knowing what to focus on, what to teach. I know that it is because I currently don’t teach anything or have something direct for me to teach. I am learning to just go with an idea and focus on what I need to be learning during this program and not worry so much about the content of the assignment.
Through this reflection I think I need to just jump in with both feet and develop a course on interpreting for trades programs. I believe that this can be a 30-40 hour course if it goes into the depth that I would like to see done for those who need to be prepared for interpreting in different trades. This isn’t necessarily something that I will end up using but it will be a good exercise in how to develop a curriculum. That being said, there might be an interpreting program in Canada or the US that might want to teach their students this type of course. 
This gives me hope for the future of this course and that I might indeed be able to teach something that interests me. I look forward to more learning this week. 
Here is a definition that has helped me understand what curriculum actually is:
Curriculum: Everything that happens to the student from the moment the student attempts to register until the student graduates. – Bob Aiken 
Really it’s all about organization. Not only the institution and how it is organized but also the teaching plans and how they are organized. It comes down to how well organized, thought out and mindful things have been put together. That’s important to remember. 

Leave a Reply

